Cold Calling Services in 2026: Published Prices, the Rules That Apply and When a Dedicated Caller Costs Less


Published cold calling plans start at $1,998 a month for calls only and $4,995 for a calling-and-email bundle, freelance cold callers on Upwork charge $11 to $20 an hour, and a US in-house caller earns around $17 an hour before benefits. The $1,998 plan is priced by volume between 300 and 2,000 calls a month: at the starting price and 300 calls, that is $6.66 a call, and the price at 2,000 calls is not published. What decides the better buy is rarely the price per dial. It is who supplies the list and the dialer, who keeps the recordings and consent records, which calling rules apply to your buyers, and what else you need the caller to do.
This guide sets out what cold calling services publish, converts the prices to cost per dial and per meeting with every assumption stated, summarizes the federal rules that apply to business and consumer calls, and shows what our clients hired cold callers to do across 24 filled positions. Third-party figures are those each provider or agency publishes, read in October 2026. Virtustant figures are first-party data from our recruitment system. Nothing here is legal advice.
A cold calling service phones prospects who have not asked to hear from you, starts a conversation and passes the interested ones to your sales team, usually as a booked meeting. Services package five things, and the price depends on how many of them you buy:
A freelancer or a dedicated remote caller sells only the fourth item, a person's time. You supply the rest, or the agency that places the caller helps you set it up. That is why a $1,998 plan and a freelancer's hourly rate are not two prices for the same thing.
Most cold calling agencies quote on request. The table shows what providers that rank for "cold calling services" publish on their own pages, read in October 2026, with the gaps left visible.
| Provider or channel | Published price | Volume or unit | Terms published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Superhuman Prospecting, Calls Only Flex | From $1,998 a month | 300 to 2,000 calls a month, priced by volume; list building from $3.00 per contact | No long-term commitment; setup fee may apply |
| Superhuman Prospecting, Premium SDR bundle | From $4,995 a month | 500 to 10,000 calls a month, plus email; CRM integration $250 | No long-term commitment; setup fees apply |
| Belkins, cold calling | Starter price from $5,000 (billing period not stated) | Custom quote by market, goals and number of callers | Not published |
| The Calling Agency | Headline rate of $7 an hour | Package detail not on the main page; states a monthly appointment guarantee | Month to month |
| SalesHive | Not published; quoted on a strategy call | Starter plan: one SDR, phone only, 100+ touches a day | Month to month, $0 setup |
| Freelance cold caller (Upwork) | $11 to $20 an hour | Per hour, plus the marketplace fee | Set per contract |
| US in-house caller (BLS, telemarketers) | $17.04 an hour median wage ($35,450 a year) | Before benefits and payroll taxes | Employment |
Read the units, not the averages. A monthly plan buys a bundle of calls, or of "touches" across phone and email, with the list and dialer often priced separately. A $7 headline rate is a price for a caller's hour, not a program. And the US wage is only the start of an in-house cost: benefits average 30.0% of total compensation in private industry (BLS, June 2026), so a $35,450 salary is about $50,600 a year, or $4,220 a month, fully loaded.
The only fair comparison is cost per meeting, and it depends on one number no provider can promise in advance: how many dials it takes to book one meeting on your list. So here is the math with that number left open.
Cost per meeting = monthly cost ÷ (dials per month × meetings per dial)
Assumptions, stated so you can replace them. A dedicated full-time caller makes 80 dials a day, the low end of the 80 to 100 a day that our clients' cold-calling job posts set as a target, over 20 working days: 1,600 dials a month. Virtustant quotes cold callers per role; as a reference we use the rate for the closest role we publish, the appointment setter, at its H1 2026 median of $10.73 an hour (n=22), or $1,717 for 160 hours, plus $200 a month for a dialer and data seat you provide. For the service, we use Superhuman Prospecting's published starting price of $1,998 and apply it to the plan's 2,000-call maximum. The provider prices by volume and does not publish the price at 2,000 calls, so this column is a best case for the service. We assume you supply the list.
| Meetings per dial (assumption) | Dedicated caller: 1,600 dials, $1,917 a month | Calls-only plan, best case: 2,000 calls at the $1,998 starting price |
|---|---|---|
| 1 meeting per 100 dials | 16 meetings, about $120 each | 20 meetings, about $100 each |
| 1 meeting per 200 dials | 8 meetings, about $240 each | 10 meetings, about $200 each |
| 1 meeting per 400 dials | 4 meetings, about $479 each | 5 meetings, about $400 each |
The finding is not that one model is cheaper. Even in the service's best case the two land within about 20% of each other per meeting, and at the plan's 300-call low end the starting price works out to $6.66 a call. What actually separates them is everything around the dial: who owns the list and the recordings, whether the caller learns your offer over months, and whether the same person can follow up by email, handle inbound replies or update your CRM. For roles that combine those tasks, a dedicated caller usually wins. For a pure volume campaign on a list you do not have, a service usually does.
For the meeting-setting side of the same comparison, including retainers and pay-per-appointment pricing, see appointment setting services: five models compared.
Whoever makes the calls, the rules follow your business. This is a summary of federal rules from FTC and FCC sources, not legal advice; state laws can add requirements, so check with counsel for your market.
Two questions to put to any provider: who scrubs the list against the Do Not Call Registry and your internal do-not-call list, and who keeps the call recordings and consent records if you end the contract. With a dedicated caller working in your own dialer and CRM, both stay with you.
We read the job posts behind every cold-calling position our clients filled through Virtustant between October 2025 and September 2026, to see what businesses ask a cold caller to do beyond dialing.
Original data — 24 filled cold-calling positions (about 18 distinct job posts). Outbound calling to new prospects: 24 of 24. Booking meetings or appointments: 19 of 24. Qualifying against criteria or following a script: 13 of 24. Also handling inbound inquiries or nurturing earlier leads: 9 of 24. Text or email follow-up as well as calls: 4 of 24. Spanish requested: 0 of 24. Prior calling or sales experience required: 12 of 24. Business-to-business: 12 of 24; consumer: 6; unclear: 6. Industries: home and field services 6, technology 4, healthcare and dental 3, others 1 each. Daily targets where stated as a number: 80 to 100 dials. Schedule, from the schedule field or the post text: about 12 full-time and 12 part-time, part-time usually about 20 hours a week; Saturdays in 3, evenings in 2. Time zone where stated: Eastern 14, Central 4, Pacific 1. Virtustant first-party placement data, read 8 October 2026.
| Model | Price basis | List and dialer | Recordings and consent records | Can take on adjacent work | Who replaces a caller who leaves |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cold calling service | Monthly plan or custom quote; published entry plans from $1,998 | Often included or sold as add-ons | Usually the provider's systems | Limited to the plan | The provider |
| Freelancer (Upwork) | $11 to $20 an hour plus marketplace fee | You supply | Yours, if they use your tools | If agreed | You |
| US in-house hire | About $4,220 a month loaded at the BLS median | You supply | Yours | Yes | You, through a new hiring round |
| Dedicated remote caller (Virtustant) | Role-specific quote; one all-in hourly rate, no placement fee | You supply; we can help set up | Yours | Yes | Virtustant, under a lifetime replacement guarantee |
Where a service is the better buy: you need thousands of dials next month on a list you do not have, you have no one to write or manage a script, or you want to test a market before committing to a seat. Where a dedicated caller is the better buy: you own the list or the leads, the calls lead to follow-up work, and you want the person, the learning and the data to stay with your company. Against a comparable US hire, a dedicated remote caller can save up to 70% once payroll, benefits and overhead are counted.
Virtustant is a remote staffing agency that places vetted, bilingual cold callers and appointment setters from Latin America with US businesses, with one all-in hourly rate, zero placement fees, month-to-month terms and a lifetime replacement guarantee with no time cap. Cold callers are quoted per role; appointment setters start at $8/hr all-in. You get a shortlist of 3 to 5 vetted candidates within 48 hours of your first call, and your hire can start in 72 hours. Candidates come from the top 1% of applicants through a four-stage vetting funnel: 100% apply, 22% clear the recruiter screen, 9% pass cognitive (IQ), skills and English testing, 3% reach a live interview, 1% are hired. See the cold caller role page, the appointment setter role page, or book a discovery call to scope the role and leave with a rate.
Among providers that publish prices (read October 2026), Superhuman Prospecting lists a calls-only plan from $1,998 a month, priced by volume between 300 and 2,000 calls, and a calling-and-email bundle from $4,995 a month; Belkins lists an average starter price from $5,000 without a billing period. Many agencies quote only on request, and list building and CRM integration are often extra.
Freelance cold callers on Upwork charge $11 to $20 an hour (October 2026). The national median wage for telemarketers is $17.04 an hour, about $4,220 a month once benefits are added. Virtustant quotes cold callers per role with one all-in hourly rate and no placement fee; appointment setters, the closest published role, start at $8 an hour.
Yes, in three ways: a cold calling service that runs the campaign with its own callers and tools, a freelancer you hire and supervise, or a dedicated remote caller placed by a staffing agency who works only on your list, in your CRM and during your hours.
Generally yes in the United States. The FTC says most business-to-business calls are exempt from the Telemarketing Sales Rule, with exceptions such as nondurable office or cleaning supplies, but under a rule finalized in March 2024 its ban on misrepresentations also covers B2B calls. Autodialed, prerecorded or AI-voice calls to mobile numbers need prior consent under the TCPA even when the buyer is a business. This is not legal advice; state laws can add requirements.
For calls to consumers, yes: the FTC requires sellers and telemarketers to sync their lists with the National Do Not Call Registry at least every 31 days, and calling before 8 a.m. or after 9 p.m. is treated as abusive. Most calls to businesses are exempt from the registry rules, but you should still honor requests not to be called.
Not necessarily. In our illustration, a calls-only plan at its $1,998 starting price applied to 2,000 calls, its best case, and a dedicated caller making 1,600 dials, priced for illustration at Virtustant's appointment-setter median of $10.73 an hour plus $200 in tools (cold callers are quoted per role), land within about 20% of each other per meeting. The difference is ownership of the list and recordings, and whether the caller can take on follow-up work.
Cold calling is the outreach: phoning prospects who have not contacted you. Appointment setting is the outcome: booking a qualified meeting, which can come from cold calls or from warm and inbound leads. In the roles our clients filled, 19 of 24 cold-calling roles also booked meetings, and many appointment setters worked warm leads instead of cold lists.
Among the cold-calling job posts our clients wrote that set a number, the target was 80 to 100 dials a day for a full shift. The right number depends on list quality, how much research each call needs and whether the caller also sends emails or handles replies.
Published prices. Provider pages read 8 October 2026: Superhuman Prospecting pricing page and cold calling page (starting prices, volume ranges, list building from $3.00 per contact, $250 CRM integration; pricing by volume; undated, copyright 2026), Belkins cold calling page (starter price, billing period not stated), The Calling Agency home page (headline hourly rate and terms), SalesHive cold calling and pricing pages (no published price, $0 setup, month to month) and Upwork's cold caller hiring page, titled October 2026. Prices change often: confirm them on the order form.
Wages and benefits. Telemarketers' national median wage, $17.04 an hour and $35,450 a year, is BLS 2025 wage data as shown on O*NET OnLine. Benefits are 30.0% of total compensation in private industry (BLS Employer Costs for Employee Compensation, June 2026); the loaded monthly figure is $35,450 ÷ 0.70 ÷ 12.
Rules. FTC, Complying with the Telemarketing Sales Rule (business guidance, last modified 11 September 2025) and FTC press release of 7 March 2024 on business-to-business telemarketing; FCC declaratory ruling FCC 24-17 of 8 February 2024 on AI-generated voices. Summary only, not legal advice.
Arithmetic. The cost-per-meeting table is a Virtustant illustration: meetings-per-dial ratios are assumptions, not benchmarks; the dial count uses the low end of the 80 to 100 daily target in our clients' job posts; the reference rate is the appointment setter H1 2026 median from our pricing page, because cold callers are quoted per role.
Virtustant data. All 24 cold-calling positions marked filled in Virtustant's recruitment system between October 2025 and September 2026, read on 8 October 2026. About 18 are distinct job posts, since some clients filled several seats from one post, so the sample leans toward a few clients. Older positions have no schedule field; for those, schedule comes from the post text. Counts of named tools are lower bounds. These are job requirements, not rates or salaries.