Toptal Alternatives in 2026: Five Hiring Models Compared on Published Fees, Trials and Replacement

October 8, 2026
Toptal Alternatives in 2026: Five Hiring Models Compared on Published Fees, Trials and Replacement
Contributors
Virtustant blog author
CMO at Virtustant

Alan Schultz is the Chief Marketing Officer at Virtustant, leading content, SEO, and AI search visibility for the remote and nearshore staffing category. He writes about hiring, managing, and scaling LATAM remote teams, grounded in Virtustant's first-hand placement data.

Connect with Alan on LinkedIn
Published
October 8, 2026
Updated
  • Toptal publishes a $79 monthly subscription and a trial of up to two weeks, but not its developer rates, which it quotes per engagement.
  • Alternatives split by model: open marketplaces (Upwork, 3% to 10% client fee), developer networks (Arc, 20% of salary for full-time hires; Lemon.io), platforms for a developer you already found (Deel, $49 per contractor per month) and remote staffing agencies.
  • The seat test: project or seat, live overlap, specialist or builder, who absorbs a miss, fee on top or one rate. Three answers on one side pick the model.
  • In 44 developer placements Virtustant made, 30 were full-time, 33 of 34 posts with stated hours named a US time zone and 25 asked for mid-level experience.
  • 18 of 44 developer job posts named AI coding tools or LLM integration.
  • Through Virtustant, developers start at $8/hr all-in, about $1,280 a month full-time, with the rate scoped on the discovery call.

Key Takeaways

The main alternatives to Toptal are open freelance marketplaces such as Upwork, developer networks such as Arc and Lemon.io, contractor and employer-of-record platforms such as Deel, and remote staffing agencies such as Virtustant. They differ less in who they can find than in three things: how you pay, who vets the developer, and who replaces the person if the hire does not work. Toptal publishes a $79 monthly subscription and a trial of up to two weeks, but not its developer rates; through Virtustant, remote developers start at $8 an hour all-in, with the rate scoped on the discovery call.

This guide sets out what each model publishes, a five-question test for choosing between them, and what 44 developer and technical placements Virtustant made actually looked like. Virtustant is one of the options compared, so the comparison sticks to published facts. Third-party figures are those each source publishes, checked in October 2026. Virtustant figures are first-party data from our recruitment system.

Table of contents

What Toptal Publishes

Before comparing alternatives, it helps to be exact about what Toptal itself says on its pricing, FAQ and developer pages:

  • Model. Toptal describes its developers as freelance developers from a global network, available on an hourly, part-time or full-time basis.
  • Selection. Of the more than 200,000 people who apply to join the network each year, Toptal says it accepts fewer than 3%.
  • Speed. Toptal says that in almost all cases it introduces candidates within 24 hours, and that you can typically hire a developer in about 48 hours.
  • Trial. Each engagement starts with a trial period of up to two weeks, and you are not billed if you are not satisfied.
  • Subscription. A flat monthly subscription fee of $79 applies if you decide to proceed.
  • Billing. Invoices typically go out twice a month on Net 10 terms; you can cancel at any time.
  • Rates. Developer rates are not listed on the pricing page or the FAQ. Toptal says cost depends on factors including where the developer is located, and quotes it on a call.

That last point is why the cluster of searches around Toptal pricing and Toptal rates exists: the hourly rate is the number most buyers want and the one the vendor sets per engagement.

Five Toptal Alternatives, by Model

Most lists of Toptal alternatives rank individual vendors. The more useful cut is the model, because two vendors in the same model price and share risk the same way.

ModelExampleWhat it publishes (October 2026)Who vetsIf the hire fails
Vetted freelance networkToptal$79/month subscription; rates quoted per engagement; trial of up to two weeksThe networkTrial period, then a new search
Open freelance marketplaceUpworkClient marketplace fee of 3% to 5% on Basic and 8% to 10% on Business Plus, plus a contract initiation fee; developer rates of $10 to $100 an hour, $150 or more for expertsYouYou search again
Developer network with a hiring feeArcFreelance hires at $15 to $110+ an hour; full-time hires at 20% of annual salary; risk-free trial of up to two weeks for freelance hiresThe networkTrial period, then a new search
Developer network, monthly billingLemon.ioNo upfront recruitment or setup fees; matching in about 24 hours; payment typically one month in advance; rates not listed on the pricing pageThe networkNot stated on the pricing page
Contractor or employer-of-record platformDeel$49 per contractor per month; $599 per worker per month on employer of record; the fee is on top of the pay you setYou, or Deel Hire sourcing tools at $14 per worker per monthYou search again
Remote staffing agencyVirtustantDevelopers from $8/hr all-in, rate scoped on the discovery call; zero placement fees; shortlist in 48 hours, start in 72 hours; month-to-monthThe agency, through a four-stage funnelLifetime replacement guarantee with no time cap
  • Fees on top versus all-in. A marketplace or platform fee is added to a rate you negotiate; an all-in agency rate already includes recruiting, contract and payroll on the professional's side.
  • Selection claims are not comparable. Toptal says fewer than 3% of applicants are accepted; Lemon.io says only 1% make it through its vetting; Virtustant hires about the top 1% of applicants through a four-stage funnel: 100% apply, 22% clear the recruiter screen, 9% pass cognitive (IQ), skills and English testing, 3% reach a live interview, 1% are hired. Each is measured on its own applicant pool, so ask every provider what the stages are.
  • The risk sits in different places. Trials cover the first weeks. A replacement guarantee covers the months after.

What a Developer Seat Costs per Month

Hourly rates hide the comparison buyers actually make, which is the monthly cost of one developer working a full schedule. The table applies each model's published numbers to 160 hours a month. Where a vendor does not publish a rate, the table says so rather than estimating one.

RouteMonthly cost at 160 hoursWhat is not included
US in-house software developerAbout $16,190 fully loaded: the BLS median of $135,980 a year (May 2025) with benefits at 30% of compensationRecruiting, equipment, software seats
ToptalDeveloper rate quoted per engagement, plus the $79 subscriptionThe rate itself is not published
Upwork$1,680 at $10/hr, $8,400 at $50/hr, $16,800 at $100/hr, each with a 5% Basic marketplace feeYour time sourcing, vetting and managing; contract initiation fee
Arc (freelance)$2,400 at $15/hr to $17,600 at $110/hrArc does not state whether the range includes its fee
Deel (contractor plan)The pay you set, plus $49 a monthSourcing and vetting, which you do
VirtustantFrom $1,280 a month all-in at the $8 starting rate; the exact rate is scoped to the roleNothing for recruiting or placement: zero placement fees

The ranges are wide because seniority and stack move the rate more than the model does. A staff-level architect from any source will not cost what a mid-level Shopify or WordPress developer costs. For a role-by-role view of developer pay, see how much a software developer costs in 2026.

The Seat Test: Five Questions That Pick the Model

We use five questions with companies deciding between a freelance network, a marketplace and a staffing agency. Answer them before you compare a single rate.

QuestionIf the answer is…The model that fits
1. Is this a project or a seat?A defined project with an end dateFreelance network or marketplace
An ongoing seat on your teamStaffing agency, or a platform if you already have the person
2. Do you need live overlap with your team?Async is fineAny model
Daily standups and same-day answers in US hoursA provider that recruits for your time zone
3. A specialist or a builder?A rare specialist for a short, high-stakes engagementVetted freelance network
A capable mid-level developer for steady workStaffing agency or developer network
4. Who absorbs a miss?You are happy to re-run the search yourselfMarketplace or platform
You want the provider to replace the person, for as long as the seat lastsAgency with a replacement guarantee
5. Fee on top or one rate?You want to negotiate the rate and pay the fee separatelyMarketplace, network or platform
You want one number that includes recruiting and payrollStaffing agency with an all-in rate

The rule of thumb. Three or more answers on the project, specialist and async side point to a freelance network or marketplace. Three or more on the seat, overlap and replacement side point to a remote staffing agency. A split usually means two hires, not one compromise.

What 44 Developer Placements Looked Like

To see which side of the seat test real buyers land on, we read the job posts behind 44 developer and technical placements marked hired in Virtustant's recruitment system between October 2025 and September 2026.

Original data — 44 developer and technical placements. Full-stack developers: 12. Web, WordPress and Webflow developers: 10. Shopify developers: 6. AI and automation developers and engineers: 6. CRM platform developers (Go High Level, Salesforce): 4. QA engineers: 3. iOS, backend and data platform: 1 each. Full-time: 30 of 44; part-time: 14. Mid-level: 25; senior: 11. Named AI tools or LLM integration: 18 of 44. Of 34 posts that stated hours, 33 named a US time zone. Median applicants per job post: 146 (39 posts). Virtustant first-party placement data, n=44, read October 2026.

  • These are seats, not projects. 30 of 44 were full-time, and the part-time roles were mostly fixed daily blocks such as 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Eastern, not task-based gigs.
  • Overlap was the requirement. 33 of the 34 posts with stated hours named a US time zone (21 Eastern, 10 Pacific, 2 Central); one named Central European Time.
  • Mid-level builders, not architects. 25 of 44 posts asked for mid-level experience and 11 for senior. The most named skills were JavaScript (13 posts), React (11), Shopify (11), HTML and CSS (11), WordPress (9) and PHP (6).
  • AI is now part of the job description. 18 of 44 posts asked for AI coding tools such as Claude Code or Cursor, or for LLM integration, agents or AI automation.
  • Two clients hired three each from one search: a full-stack team on Pacific overlap hours and a QA team.

On the seat test, most of these buyers sit on the staffing-agency side: an ongoing seat, US hours, a mid-level builder and someone else carrying the replacement risk. Role pages with rates and scope: full-stack developer, Shopify developer, WordPress developer, AI developer and QA engineer.

Toptal vs Upwork

Toptal and Upwork are the two names most buyers compare first, and they sit at opposite ends of the freelance model.

ToptalUpwork
ModelVetted network of freelance talentOpen marketplace of freelancers and agencies
Who vetsToptal, before you see a profileYou, from proposals, profiles and reviews
Published client cost$79/month subscription; rates quoted per engagementMarketplace fee of 3% to 5% (Basic) or 8% to 10% (Business Plus) on top of the freelancer rate
Published speedCandidates within 24 hours in almost all cases; hire in about 48 hoursAs fast as you can review proposals
TrialUp to two weeks; not billed if not satisfiedNo platform trial; you set milestones

If you are leaning toward Upwork for an ongoing developer seat rather than a project, read Upwork alternatives and Virtustant vs Upwork; if you already have the person and only need contracts and payroll, see Virtustant vs Deel.

When Toptal Is the Better Fit

A comparison that only recommends its author is not much use. There are hires where a vetted freelance network is the right call:

  • A short, specialist engagement. A staff-level architect for a three-month migration, where you would never hire full-time.
  • A time zone you cannot recruit for. A global network can cover hours and locations a regional recruiter does not.
  • A freelance contract you can stop at any time, with a trial at the start.

A remote staffing agency fits the other case: an ongoing seat on your team, working your hours, at one all-in rate, where you want the provider to own recruiting and replacement. Virtustant is a remote staffing agency that places vetted, bilingual developers from Latin America with US companies. Developers start from $8/hr all-in, with the rate scoped on the discovery call, zero placement fees, month-to-month terms and a lifetime replacement guarantee with no time cap. You get a shortlist of 3 to 5 vetted candidates within 48 hours of your first call, and your hire can start in 72 hours. Candidates come from roughly the top 1% of applicants through the four-stage funnel above. Companies can save up to 70% versus a comparable US hire. See the software developer page, compare providers on compare agencies, or book a discovery call to scope the role.

FAQ: Toptal Alternatives

What are the best Toptal alternatives?

It depends on the model you need. Open marketplaces such as Upwork suit defined projects you vet yourself; developer networks such as Arc and Lemon.io and vetted networks such as Toptal suit freelance engagements; platforms such as Deel suit a developer you already found; and remote staffing agencies such as Virtustant suit an ongoing seat in US hours at one all-in rate.

How much does Toptal cost?

Toptal publishes a flat $79 monthly subscription that applies if you proceed, and a trial of up to two weeks in which you are not billed if you are not satisfied. It does not list developer rates on its pricing page or FAQ; the rate is quoted per engagement and depends on factors including the developer's location.

Is Toptal cheaper than Upwork?

There is no published like-for-like answer. Upwork shows freelancer rates, which it puts at $10 to $100 an hour for software developers, plus a client marketplace fee of 3% to 5% on Basic or 8% to 10% on Business Plus. Toptal quotes its rates per engagement, so the comparison only works once you have both quotes for the same role.

What is the difference between Toptal and Upwork?

Toptal is a vetted network: it screens freelancers before you see them and says it accepts fewer than 3% of applicants. Upwork is an open marketplace where you post a job, review proposals and vet the freelancer yourself, paying a platform fee on top of the agreed rate.

Does Toptal charge a placement fee?

Toptal's pricing page lists a $0 recruiting fee, and its FAQ describes a $79 monthly subscription when you proceed. Developer networks differ: Arc publishes a fee of 20% of annual salary for full-time hires. Virtustant charges zero placement fees.

What is a cheaper alternative to Toptal for a full-time developer?

For an ongoing seat, a remote staffing agency usually costs less than a US hire and carries the recruiting and replacement work. Through Virtustant, developers start at $8 an hour all-in, about $1,280 a month at 160 hours, with the exact rate scoped to the role; the BLS median wage for US software developers was $135,980 a year in May 2025.

How fast can you hire a developer through a Toptal alternative?

Toptal says it introduces candidates within 24 hours in almost all cases and that you can typically hire in about 48 hours; Lemon.io publishes matching in about 24 hours. Through Virtustant, a shortlist of 3 to 5 vetted candidates arrives within 48 hours of your first call, and your hire can start in 72 hours.

Is Toptal a staffing agency?

Toptal describes itself as a network of freelance talent and calls its developers freelance developers, engaged hourly, part-time or full-time. A remote staffing agency recruits a dedicated professional for your team, handles the contract and payroll on the professional's side, and replaces the person if the hire does not work out.

Method and Sources

Virtustant data. 44 developer and technical positions marked hired in Virtustant's recruitment system between October 2025 and September 2026, read on 8 October 2026. Two test records and non-technical roles that matched the search (a designer, a business development representative, IT and construction engineers) were excluded. Category, schedule, seniority and skills come from each position and its job post; a skill counts only when the post names it, and most stored descriptions are truncated, so skill counts are a floor. Several hires share one job post, so applicant counts are per post (39 posts). No rates, salaries or budgets from these records are published.

Third-party figures. As published on each provider's site, checked October 2026: Toptal pricing page, FAQ and developers page; Upwork's July 2026 article on client fees and its software developer hiring page; Arc pricing page; Lemon.io pricing page; Deel fees as listed on our Virtustant vs Deel comparison, checked 1 October 2026. BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook, software developers: median pay $135,980 a year, May 2025 (page modified 27 August 2026); the fully loaded monthly figure is $135,980 ÷ 0.70 ÷ 12, using benefits at 30.0% of total private-industry compensation (BLS Employer Costs for Employee Compensation, June 2026).

Calculations. Monthly costs use 160 hours. Upwork examples add the 5% Basic marketplace fee and exclude the contract initiation fee. Arc examples use its published freelance range without adding fees, because the page does not say whether the range includes them.

Virtustant published figures. Developers from $8/hr all-in, rate scoped on the discovery call; zero placement fees; shortlist within 48 hours, start in 72 hours; four-stage vetting funnel of 100/22/9/3/1; lifetime replacement guarantee with no time cap; month-to-month terms. See pricing.

Related reads

Source